Book Review: Trouble by Non Pratt

imageTitle: Trouble

Author: Non Pratt

Pages: 384

Read: May 31 – June 1

Genre: YA Contemporary, Coming of Age

Goodreads: In this dazzling debut novel, a pregnant teen learns the meaning of friendship—from the boy who pretends to be her baby’s father.
When the entire high school finds out that Hannah Shepard is pregnant via her ex-best friend, she has a full-on meltdown in her backyard. The one witness (besides the rest of the world): Aaron Tyler, a transfer student and the only boy who doesn’t seem to want to get into Hannah’s pants. Confused and scared, Hannah needs someone to be on her side. Wishing to make up for his own past mistakes, Aaron does the unthinkable and offers to pretend to be the father of Hannah’s unborn baby. Even more unbelievable, Hannah hears herself saying “yes.”
Told in alternating perspectives between Hannah and Aaron, Trouble is the story of two teenagers helping each other to move forward in the wake of tragedy and devastating choices. As you read about their year of loss, regret, and hope, you’ll remember your first, real best friend—and how they were like a first love.

 

image

This was another bookoutlet purchase. I went into this book with the synopsis “teen pregnancy and her friend pretends to be the father.” That was enough for me to be interested. I wanted to know why he decided to be the stand in father and if there was a love interest, and if her getting pregnant was a big surprise.

I struggled with deciding my rating for this book between a 2 1/2 and a 3. What landed me on the 3 were the characters. I really enjoyed Aarons character a lot more than Hannah. I’m confident that is due to Hannah be portrayed as a pregnant 15 year old. Ten years older than that can make her very annoying and making not the best decisions and not realizing that she doesn’t need what she thinks she does. I really enjoyed seeing the friendships that formed. Aaron and Hannah had friends that stood by them when they needed it the most and they were genuine and gave so much love. That is was made me go that extra half to rate this book a 3.

The ending was what bothered me. Days later I can see how the ending is a decent one but as I was reading I wanted more. I wanted to have an idea as to what would happen next in there lives. It was a cute ending but I just wanted more. I wanted an epilogue.

Leave a Reply

