Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury

blogTitle: A Court of Mist and Fury

Author: Sarah J Maas

Genre: YA Fantasy

Pages: 640

Read: July 3-10th

Goodreads: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.
Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.
With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

 

image

My Review:

This is a sequel so this is a review best read by those who have read the A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR.) .
I heard many mixed reviews about ACOTAR but I had read Throne of Glass and enjoyed it so I wanted to see for myself. I did enjoy it more than others but I also understood why it wasn’t  highly loved. Though it is considered a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, I would call it loosely based. It did was interesting to read how they were similar. Of course it ended in a big moment and that is why there is a sequel.

ACOMAF is definitely a better book than its first. I guess ACOTAR is need to introduce the characters and give you the world and some basic information. But ACOMAF is where the story line really picks up and because everything a reader wants from this genre. There is far more world building, a different court, more action and training, more  magic, more history. Feyre’s character grows so much in this book its amazing and she becomes more likeable. In my opinion, when it comes to trilogies, the second book is always the best and so far this is also proving that (but we shall see after the next book releases next year.)
ACOMAF left me with the need to reread both ACOTAR and ACOMAF over again. I have never felt like rereading a book after having just finished it. You get so much information that relate to the first book that, I guess I’ll speak for myself, you miss when you read it. All the foreshadowing that goes unnoticed, unless you’re clever (I am not). It can make a reading want to return to the begin to read between all the lines. At first when i finished ACOMAF I left a little empty. Everyone was ranting a raving and loving and obsessing and praising this book that when I finished I felt like it needed to change my life and I was underwhelmed. After a few days I wanted to reread both books and couldn’t stop looking up fan art and I realized I too was in love with this book more than I first allowed myself.

FullSizeRender

I’m sure I will reread both books before the next release, next year. Happy Reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

