Book Review: The Wrath and The Dawn

18798983Title: The Wrath and The Dawn
Author: Renee Ahdieh
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Retelling
Pages 388
Goodreads: One Life to One Dawn.
In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.
Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?
Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, The Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end.

image

My Review:

I have spent the past day trying to decide how I wanted to rate this book. This doesn’t have many positive reviews in the bookTube community (at least the bookTubers I follow.) But I was intrigued by the premise non the less. So I read it and I lagged at the beginning. I would say after 100 pages I overcame the lag but I still wasn’t absorbed in yet. I had a few problems with some events. My biggest one was the way Shahrzad managed to keep herself alive after that first night, telling stories and not being able to finish it. I thought that was questionable. I later did some research on The Arabian Nights/A Thousand and One Nights and found out that is how the original character managed to keep herself alive for a thousand and one nights. So now with this new found information I feel as though I am no longer allowed to have a problem with this aspect of the story, which disappoints me a little. Also with my research I realized that Renee Ahdieh kept her book fairly close to the original story so that is a positive point. I just found the aspect of her being able to stay alive unrealistic.
Shahrzad is a character I am not sure if I love. The way she speaks and how she thinks of her responses proves that she is smart and made me forget how young she truly is. She is quit sassy but surprisingly she doesn’t say too many things that can get her in trouble so you never feel like she’s dumb or should just shut up.
Khalid is a man of few words and when he speaks he also uses words with precision and I had to keep reminding myself he was only 18 (although he is called the boy king repeatedly so you can actually forget.) I am still wondering how I feel about him as I read the sequel.

FullSizeRender(1)

I’m struggling with the relationships mostly, the love interests. So I am curious how this duology will end.

Leave a Reply

