September Wrap Up

 

This month was pretty successful for me and I am quite proud of myself. By the end of the month I ended up being one book shy of fulfilling my goodreads goal (50 books in the  year 2016).

  1. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty
    • image    I started this in March and finally finished it in September. I like Liane Moriarty’s writing, she has a theme so far from the two books that I’ve read, that intrigue me. She likes to present you with a situation and the book goes back and unfolds for you piece by piece. This wasn’t a mystery but it had some questions that were answered and I was satisfied by them.
  2. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas
    • imageI finally caught up with this series and I love it. I know it is not the best series but it is so good. The different story lines for each character and how they were all affected by the Kings actions with magic is so interesting. I have so many thoughts on this book that I will make a separate *spoiler* post for.
  3. It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover
    • imageColleen Hoover is a guilty pleasure author. I have heard many thoughts and negative opinions on her work and although I cannot disagree with the points made, I still enjoy her books. Sometimes I just need a Hoover book after too much fantasy. This book was a little heavy, which is a big change from her other works. This book will definitely be her stand out book. (trigger warning: abuse)
  4. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch
    • imageThis book was a pick for a goodreads group that I was a moderator for. I wasn’t all that excited about reading it and only knew it had to do with no more winter. After reading it I felt as though the premise had a lot of potential but the execution was lacking. I had to research the author because I thought she was a very young writer.
  5. Wake by Lisa McMann
    • img_5362This was the biggest disappointment this month. With 210 pages I did not expect it to be amazing filled with so much plot but I did expect it to not feel rushed. It flew through the protagonists childhood and right into her teenage life to just get to the point. Once it did not much happened. This was poorly written. Left many holes and just ridiculous that it is a trilogy. At the rate the first book was going, all three books could have been made into one book with some more substance.
  6. Fade by Lisa McMann
    • img_5362Yup, and I read the next one because I like to annoy my brain. It did not get better and it was a waste of an hour.
  7. The Forbidden Daughter by Shobhan Bantwal
    • imageIt took a surprising mystery turn in a way. Even though you are made aware of the answered the whole way for the most part it doesn’t take away from the severity of it. The Forbidden Daughter touches the issue of how little female babies are accepted in other countries and how it is normal to be so disappointed in giving birth to one.
  8. The Burning Air by Erin Kelly
    • imageThis psychological thriller, though not amazing, still gave me a run for my money (well my library card to be exact). I had some pretty elaborate theories that were all wrong (lol) but still entertaining to think while reading. I enjoyed it but it definitely isn’t the best of its genre. The ending was also not satisfying enough, I execpted something a little more dramatic.

Graphic Novels

  1. Injustice Gods Among Us: Year 2 Volume 1
  2. Injustice Gods Among Us: Year 2 Volume 2
  3. Injustice Gods Among Us: Year 3 Volume 1
  4. Injustice Gods Among Us: Year 3 Volume 2
    • image Honestly the whole Injustice Gods Among Us series is amazing. Thanks to my boyfriend who made me read it. It lets you see the Justice League in a different way and see how too much power even in Superman’s hands, can be scary and dangerous and unpredictable. What happens when you kindness super hero goes a little evil….
    • 5 bows for the entire series (that I’ve read so far) by the way.
  5. Flashpoint
    • image I literally only read this because of The Flash show (the first episode of season 3 is called Flashpoint by the way) and I wanted to read a Flash comic book. I liked it but I felt like it was missing something and it could just be that I am loving Injustice and its series that I just wanted Flashpoint to go on a little longer. Sometimes I struggle with accepting that graphic novels will not always go on as long as regular novels.

 

Total: 7 1/2 books and 5 graphic novels 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

