Book Review: All The Bright Places

18460392Title: All The Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Niven
Genre: YA Contemporary
Read: Nov 21- 27th, Pages: 378
Goodreads: Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 

image

This is a story of a boy called Finch and a girl named Violet

I’m struggling with deciding from a 2.75 or a 3 for this book.

Violet has been through a tragedy and isn’t coping well and one day her life collides with Finch and he decides to make himself a presence in Violets life when a school project is expected of them and he forces their partnership. From there their story unfolds.
Finch’s character is the one that makes this book. This book is dual perspective but his character takes the show. It is very apparent in the beginning that Finch struggles with a mental disability but he doesn’t seem aware that that is what he has been dealing with for years. He has figured out his own way to deal with it, or so he thinks.

When bumping into Violet he decides that he wants to try to stay okay for her. He wants her to experience life a certain way. This made me sad. That he gave off the impression that he only wanted to try to overcome his mental illness that he didn’t fully understand for a girl only. Although that is what happens for a lot of people in real life, someone special enters their life and they wanted to be better for them. I wish people would want to be better for themselves. Finch is a special character and all I wanted to do was wrap him in a hug. But by the end of the book I felt so empty. I didn’t feel as sad as I thought I would have. I just felt lost, maybe a bit the way the characters in the book felt by the turn of events. I don’t want to say that this book would not be good for others, but for me it lacked the punch. I wish I could have felt more for this book than I did but it genuinely did nothing for me but just wish I could have been friends with Finch. Violet’s character was nothing special after reading about Finch.

I feel like way more could have been done for both Violet and Finch. Although Violet’s parents were around and helpful and they did try, the people in Finch’s life failed. I can only assume how hard it is to notice some signs in some teens but he was showing some very obvious ones and everyone was too wrapped up in other lesser things to acknowledge what was in front of them. Even though this book isn’t the highest rating for me I would still recommend it because I’m sure others will enjoy it more than I did, as long as they know they might need tissues handy.

Leave a Reply

