Review: Holding Up the Universe

28686840Title: Holding Up the Universe
Author: Jennifer Niven
Genre: YA Contemporary
Read: Dec 3-5th
Pages 391
Goodreads 4 stars

image

This follows Libby and Jack with dual perspectives. Libby is known as the fattest girl and America and Jack is a boy who struggles with prosopagnosia, also known as face blindness. With Jack suffering from his face blindness by himself hes created a life for himself that portrays himself as the cool guy with occasional jerk tendencies. Libby has suffered from being known as the fattest girl in america and finally has decided to return to school and ends up in the same school as Jack. One day Jack decides to do something that puts Libby as a target. After these events the two end up in detention for a period of time.

Libby is a very cool character in my opinion. Some people have complained that she doesn’t portray a plus size woman accurately but I cannot say if I believe that or not. All I can say is that I enjoyed reading about. She has come a long way in her life and has created a great attitude about herself and others. She pushes herself to be brave and strong and even though she may  have some “immature” thoughts I think that’s pretty predictable of a teenage girl. Most teenage girls are insecure no matter what they look like and most of them would give anything for attention from a guy. If you keep in mind how she spent the past few years of her life its not that surprising.

Jack on the other hand is a guy I didn’t care much about reading. The most interesting thing about him was his disorder, his prosopagnosia and his relationship with his little brother Dusty. It was very interesting to have to continue to realize that he cannot recognize faces. I had never heard of such a thing and its such a unique thing to have to deal with something so simple that we take for granted. Also, his relationship with Dusty was a sweet big brother little brother friendship. I loved the way he talked to him and was there for him and it was very obvious that he was the most important person to Jack. But other than that I found him dull and I just didn’t care much about him.

The love interests in this story was one I could not support. I didn’t agree with it and I didn’t think it was necessary. I feel like it would have been better if things went differently. I would have appreciated this book so much more if there was not love interest involved at all. Other than that I think this book was an interesting story with two very different characters brought together in one story, but I didn’t really care much while reading it and I just wanted it to be over.

Leave a Reply

