2016 End of Year Book Survey

2016 Reading Stats

Number of Books Read: 66 on goodreads (67 in reality)
Number of Rereads: 1
Genre You Read the Most From:

I will apologize now before you continue reading for the repetition in my answers. Although I read 67 books, when it comes to answering the questions it sure feels as though I barely read anything this year. I answered honestly and many books fit multiple categories. Also I read books 4-7 of Harry Potter for the first time ever this year.

Best in Books

Best book you read in 2016

Book you were excited about &  thought you were going to love more but didn’t

Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read

  • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (I was surprised that I didn’t feel much emotions by this read)
  • The Christmas Town by Donna VanLiere (I was surprised that I loved it as much as I did)

Book you “pushed” the most people to read (and they did) 

  • Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone (I pushed my sister to read it and she did and was asking me for more recommends)

The best series you started in 2016? Best sequel of 2016? Best series ender of 2016?

  • I dont have a best series I started this year that I didnt finish or caught up to.
  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas (is my favorite sequel/book 2 I read this year)
  • Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling (is the best series ender I read)

Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

  • Most of the books that I enjoyed this year were by authors I had already read from so  unfortunately I don’t have an answer.

Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

  • Again, I don’t really have an answer for this one either. I read different genre’s based on my mood and it seems that I stuck with the same few genres this year so I don’t feel like I left my comfort zone. I think outside my comfort zone might be sci fi?

Most action-packed/thriller/unputdownable book of the year?

  • You by Caroline Kepnes

Book you read in 2016 that you are most likely to re-read next year?

  • A Court of Thorns of Roses series
  • Harry Potter books

Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

  • The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Most memorable character of 2016?

  • Rhysand because he was the first person I thought of because every reader is in love with him. (A Court of Thorns and Roses)
  • Lysandra (Throne of Glass series)
  • Daniel (The Sun is Also a Star)

Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

Most thought-provoking/life-changing book in 2016?

Book you cant believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read

  • You by Caroline Kepnes

Shortest & longest book you read in 2016?

Book that shocked you the most?

  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas (the ending shocked me, does that count?)

OTP of the year

  • Catherine and Jest – Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Favorite book you read in 2016 from an author you’ve read previously

  • ACOMAF and The Sun is Also a Star are both books that I’ve read the authors other works previously

Best book you read in 2016 that you read based solely on a recommendation from somebody else/peer pressure

I don’t really get recommended books outside of booktube recommending all viewers and I never feel peer pressure to read books because if I did I would have read all of Cassandra Clare, Rick Riordan books already or I wouldn’t have waited so long to read the HP series. I’ll go with All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven because my sister wanted me to read it so bad but I was already interested in reading it before she blindly purchased it.

Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

  • Rhysand because I’m basic.

Best 2016 debut you read

Best Worldbuilding/most vivid setting you read this year

Book that put a smile on your face/was fun to read

Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2016

  • Harry Potter; Half Blood Prince & Deathly Hallows
  • A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Hidden gem of the year

Book that crushed your soul

  • Empire of Storms ending kind of crushed me in a “wow really that’s how its going to be” way.
  • A Monster Calls broke me and I’m ready to be broken again by the movie I am making everyone I know see.

Most unique book you read in 2016

  • Wake by Lisa McMann – although I do not recommend, it did have a unique premise, they just did nothing with it.

Book that made you the most mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

  • Wake & Fade by Lisa McMann because like I previously said, the trilogy could have been one single book with so much actual plot going on. The whole time I was reading it I wanted to rewrite the story to make it more interesting.
  • The Girl on The Train by Paula Hawkins just irritated me to no end.

Did you enjoy your 2016 reading year?

I enjoyed how much I grew this year in my reading. I have learned about new topics and new traits that other readers wish to see in books and noticed that I do like a variety of books. I learned that I like to take notes while I read because it keeps my thoughts on the books my own and that I used to take to long to DNF books and that I don’t want to hesitate to do so in my future. I learned how to overcome my book hoarding obsession and that I barely bought books in the last few months of the year. I wish I read more books than I did but I know I read a lot more than I did in the past few years and thats an accomplishment. I enjoyed my progress this year.

 

This survey came from a book blogger.

Leave a Reply

