Review: Night

1617Title: Night
Author: Elie Wiesel
Pages 120
Read: January 18th- 19th
Genre: Nonfiction, Memoir
Goodreads

I decided not to rate this book. Basically I don’t think it is possible to actually rate a work of nonfiction. Maybe a memoir but this is history. I have had this book for many years and could never understand why I never read it so I am pleased to know this story now. It is of course an important story to tell and since it is so short it should be on everyone’s list of must reads. I have read many books from WWII before so it was nothing new or surprising but the brutality never ceases to amaze me. Unfortunately I didn’t really like the way the story was told or written. It didn’t speak to me the way other stories have. I feel like it was just the tip of the iceberg the amount of pain and suffering Elie went through. I can only imagine how hard it must be to write your own story when you’ve been through all of that. I just felt like t was rushed and I thought it was going to be so much more than what it was. I feel sad by this. I don’t want to but negatives on such a important story but after having read it I don’t feel as bad for having taken so long to get to it. I think I prefer reading Maus over this.

Leave a Reply

