Review: Gilded Cage

30258320Title: Gilded Cage
Author: Vic James
Genre: YA Fantasy, Dystopia
Pages 368
Read: January 31 – February 8
Goodreads

image

I received this digital copy from netgalley for review.

The synopsis on goodreads doesn’t really tell you what this book is about. So i will try my  best to describe the premise. Gilded Cage follows closely to the lives of the Hadely family who decided to complete their “slavedays” together. A mandatory 10 years of enslavement at any time of your life between the ages of 18-80 or if your are at least 10 you are allowed to complete your days with your parents at the same time. Their oldest child of the Hadely family, Abi, finds a way for the family to serve their days with the strongest known Equal family instead of the commonly placed slavetown Millmoor. But on the day that they are suppose to be transported the find out that the only son will not be joining them and is being sent to the brutal Millmoor. Equals are a small group of people in the world that form the political groups. Equals possess Skill, which is essential magic, very powerful magic. The rest of the world is filled with commoners. While the rest of the Hadely family serve the Jardine’s family, some of the most powerfully skilled members of the world, Luke is in Millmoor being a part of the a revolution.

I did not enjoy the writing style of this book. I really had a hard time with the names of the characters and how many names at that. There were so many characters and so many people in the political world that I had a hard time trying to remember who everyone was and how they were connected to each other and who was whose heir etc. I was half tempted to make a chart. The author had a thing for giving some characters more than one name. One characters was introduced as Dina but referred to as DiDi by her sister to later find out that her actual name was Bodina . With in one sentence she was called both names. It happened throughout the book and it was very frustrating.

This book was also told in third person but with many different perspectives, too many in my opinion and it was also confusing. It was told in third person but when it was Luke or Abi’s chapters their parents were referred to as Mum or Dad just like it would if you were reading first person.

I was quiet confused throughout the book and I was having a hard time getting through it. Many times I was tempted to DNF this book but only pulled through due to it being a Netgalley book and I wanted to be able to review it. I will say that the last 12% of the book redeemed itself. There was a “plot twist” if you will that after it was revealed I was a little upset with myself because it was so obvious but I didn’t see it at all. I flew through the last bit and I was so anxious to see how it would all end and then it ended in a cliffhanger. At first I thought I wouldn’t bother reading the sequel but with that ending I just might be temped enough to read the next one. Which I believe is set to be published later this year.

I just don’t think this book was for me. It seems to be loved by many but I just didn’t understand the political system. I also thought that only one character had enough substance and was the most interesting and there was so little of his pov compared to all the others. There is a lot of things going on and everyone has their own agenda and it was just too much for my mind to process.

Leave a Reply

