February Wrap Up 2017

This month was a struggle to read. I really thought I read nothing until I looked back at my notes and noticed I read more than I thought. Still, I feel like I was a little overwhelmed this month with trying to accomplish my tbr. Netgalley reads stressed me out and put me in not even a slump but a mood of finding everything boring no matter how interesting they actually were. This month turned into a graphic novel month. I’m going list out the books I read in the order they were read.

  1. Giant Days vol 1 by John Allison **.75
    This was just a silly random story of three freshmen college students going through the motions of college and how each of them are completely different but are friends. I just don’t think this is for me I wasn’t bored I just didn’t really care about it.
  2. The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls ****1/2
    When you read about a child’s life of poverty caused by her parents and their dysfunctional ways, I’m not sure how you can not find this so eye opening to life and being thankful for yours and how you really do NOT know what others are going through.
  3. Saga vol 1 by Brian K. Vaughan ****
    Two different species fall in love and have a child and that child and telling the story. I mean honestly just give it a try yourself and see you’ll either love it or hate it.
  4. Saga vol 2 by Brian K. Vaughan ****
  5. Gilded Cage by Vic James **1/2
    Boring, slightly confusing story about a family who is serving their slave days (10 years) and what they go through. I think this could have used some more editing and proof reading before making it available on netgalley.
  6. Morning Glories vol 1 : For a Better Future ***
    A school that accepts specific children that all share the same birthday and have unconventional ways to run the school, such as requiring the parents of the students to pretend they don’t have a child if they call them. I really don’t know what this is about but I’m willing to keep reading to find out.
  7. Beautiful Broken Girls by Kim Savage **
    Two sisters are found dead in a quarry and Ben, the secret ex of one of those sisters, is hunting down notes that were left for him that he hopes will give him answers to what happened to them. *spoiler alert* they don’t *insert eye roll emoji*
  8. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater ***
    I liked this but I probably should have read it instead of listened to it. This is a book that if you plan to listen to you have to really pay attention and I feel I might have missed a few things. I want to continue on from the books.
  9. Saga vol 3 by Brian K. Vaughan *****
  10. Saga vol 4 by Brian K. Vaughan *****
  11. Dark Matter by Blake Crouch ****
    Waking up after a “traumatic” experience to find your wife is not your wife and your child doesn’t exist, what will you do to get all that back? I really enjoyed this book and I recommend it to anyone who is interested in attempting sci fi. Its not too intimidating.
  12. Saga vol 5 by Brian K. Vaughan *****
  13. Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology by Leah Remini *****
    Do you like Carrie from The King of Queens? May I suggest listening to her audiobook of her interesting life and she lives the life of a Scientologist and why she decided to leave it. Listening to her tell her stories of a young child and teen, you definitely get the Carrie Heffernan vibe.
  14. Morning Glories vol 2: All Will be Free by Nick Spencer ***
  15. Blood for Blood by Ryan Graudin ***
    The sequel/finale of Wolf by Wolf, where its a world after WW2 and Hitler won. It was not as good as Wolf by Wolf but a decent ending.

My favorite reads were; The Raven Boys, Dark Matter and Troublemaker, this month 🙂

Leave a Reply

