Review: The Raven Boys

img_0519Title: The Raven Boys
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Pages 416
Format: Audiobook
Listened: February 7th-February 17th
Genre:YA Paranormal
Published: September 18, 2012
Goodreads

 

 

image

I decided to listen to this book on audio and I was intrigued from the beginning. The audiobook added to the atmosphere of this book. The audiobook speaker did each characters voice different allowing you to know which ones had a stronger southern accent. I enjoyed getting to hear how each of the “raven boys” sounded.

For the characters, Blue was a really entertaining character. Her strong attitude and responses to the boys were quick and  strong. She is eccentric and it is what made her so unique of a character. Her style is so messy and I loved that about her. She comes from a family of female physics but isn’t one herself but she is able to help her physic family by just being in her presence.

I’ll discuss the “raven boys” as a group. Adam, Gansy, Rowan, and Noah are a group of friends who attend a private all boys school. Three of the four boys live together. Each one is very different but they all manage to come together to be good friends. Gansy is obsessed with ley lines and the paranormal and the others go along with him on his adventures even if they don’t understand it. The dynamic of their friendship is big part of the book.

Many people have a hard time explaining this book because it is hard to explain without spoiling parts of the book. The only thing I can say to readers is to just give it a try if you find the idea of physics and young adults intriguing. As much as I liked the audiobook version, I did find that I had to rewind it often because I would get confused. A part of me feels like I may want to read the book again with a physical copy.

Leave a Reply

