Review: The Bone Witch

img_0528Title: The Bone Witch

Author: Rin Chupeco

Pages: 400

Genre: YA Fantasy, Paranormal

Read: March 1-March 9

Published: March 7, 2017

Goodreads 3.39 stars

 

“Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise.”

image

I received an early ecopy from Netgalley for review.

I really struggled to get through this book, I wasn’t enjoying myself nor did I want to finish it. I finished only because it was a Netgalley read and I wanted to read it in order to review it. This follows a young girl, Tea, who raises her brother from the dead without fully understanding how she did so. By doing so she is classified as a bone witch and she is taking away from her village (I think, I can’t remember) to stay with another bone witch and learn how to grow into her power. The bulk of the book is told by Tea to another person, explaining what happened to her. I didn’t find the world building very strong and I found it lacking in a lot of ways. It took forever for anything interesting to happen and when it did it was the ending. It had the first book syndrome. It was just the platform for the series giving you the background you  need to know before the series really begins. In a way like a poorly written prequel. I found the ending its only possible saving grace but I still don’t think I will be going forward with the series. It wasn’t enough for me to be concerned as to what happens to Tea and what she is going to do to that world.

Leave a Reply

