Review: Truthwitch

img_0529Title: Truthwitch

Author: Susan Dennard

Pages 416

Published: January 5, 2016

Read: March 7-March 12

Genre: YA Fantasy

Goodreads 3.94 stars

 

“Those who win wars are those who write history.”

image

This was a fun read and different from what I am used to. I found the world of the many different witches an interesting world. The two main characters, thread sisters, Safiya and Iseult were a great pairing. I did find Is more interesting, her background. In the book the two get separated and I found myself enjoying Is’ chapters more intriguing and me skimming Safi’s. I think what bothered me a little about it was that I was lead to believe that there was not romance just a story on friendship. What it actually is, is a strongly focused friendship story with a bit of romance. The romance isn’t a major plot point nor is it instant but I didn’t like it and I didn’t care for the love interest. I thought it came off convenient and obvious. I think I would have appreciated it more if there was none and it was solely about sisterhood/friendship.

Overall it was a fun read and I get why it is so loved but it seemed to have missed the mark for me and I personally didn’t care too much once I finished it. No critical judgments or eloquent reasoning, I just did not like it, it was average for me.

Leave a Reply

